#choosetobe…2017

 

Can you believe 2017 is here?

I am still astonished at how quickly 2016 went by. New years bring about many new things-  new beginnings, new journeys, new focuses, new trials and triumphs…I could go on and on.   These new things can be exciting and maybe scary, too, but one thing that I love about a new year is choosing a new word to focus on for the continuation of the year.

Choosing the right word is something that is challenging yet refreshing.  Joy was my word for the year of 2016 and I found so much joy through God during my journey of 2016.   I saw myself transform from a nervous, worry-filled person into a joy-filled person with a full dependency on God.   As 2016 came to an end, I felt confident that I had reached a level of joy that I had never reached before.

God changed my attitude.

God changed my way of life.

God changed me.

I am forever grateful and as I continue into 2017, I am planning to continue to #choosejoy but there is another word that I have not really focused on before and I think my 2017 word will help me take the next step of being the person God wants me to be.  He is paving my path and I am joyfully following His way.

As I thought of the word that I wanted to focus on for the year of 2017, there were many words that came to mind but God stepped in, of course, and surprised me with the word that I realized I do not think of often. I opened my hands to him.  I listened and he answered.

Free… Choosing to be free.

That was it!

Freedom from worry and stress.

Freedom from anxiety.

Freedom from burdens.

Freedom THROUGH God!

In 2 Corinthians, the new covenant is being discussed and within the scripture it is stated that “whenever someone turns to the Lord, the veil [the law of the old covenant] is taken away. For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.  So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord.  And the Lord–who is the Spirit–makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image” (2 Corinthians 3:16-18 NLT).   Once we have the veil removed, we can find freedom in God and see Him in his full glory.  Can you imagine?   Choosing to release control and choosing to let go can lead to freedom and bigger steps in our relationships with God.

Finding freedom is much more than just letting go of things and finding a peace within you.  Finding freedom brings us closer to God, closer to his glorious Spirit.  It’s what, I believe, He wants for all of his children.  He wants us to live in a way of complete freedom letting Him guide the way and showing us the story He wrote for us before we were even born.

It is my hope and prayer that this year, I (and you, too) can find the freedom that God graciously provides.  We just have to take the step and I am ready to take that step closer into His love, His promises and His word.

Stay joyful and free, friends.

XO, Breann

Read 2 Corinthians 3 HERE 

Drew bought me a beautiful Alex and Ani bracelet for the kick-off of my year of freedom: the Guardian of Freedom (see below)…It’s on sale right now! Check out the Alex and Ani Bracelet HERE

img_7520

Guardian of Freedom charm

#choosetobefree #choosejoy

4 thoughts on “#choosetobe…2017

  1. Patrice says:

    Interesting, because I just wrote to the college students about not being paralyzed by fear and indecision. If you do not allow yourself to be paralyzed by fear you are, in a sense, free.

    Like

Leave a comment